Rep. Rita Allison Named to Prestigious Education Policy Program


For immediate release – Oct. 12, 2015

Rep. Rita Allison among 22 South Carolina professional and civic leaders named to prestigious education policy program

SPARTANBURG, S.C. – Rep. Rita Allison, R-Lyman, is one of 22 professional and civic leaders from across South Carolina to be selected to participate in the S.C. Education Policy Fellowship Program for 2015-2016.

Allison, chairwoman of the S.C. House of Representatives Education and Public Works Committee, joins other leaders from the public and private sectors in the 10-month professional development program. Fellows, selected from established and emerging leaders in education and related fields, work to develop sound education policy and practices statewide.

“I am honored to serve and learn with this outstanding group of individuals who make a difference each day in South Carolina for our future,” Allison said.

As part of the program, fellows participate in a variety of activities that promote leadership, develop professional networks, demystify education policy and foster a greater understanding of the roles of government and the community.

“In this year’s SC-EPFP class we are fortunate to have some of our state’s most talented and dedicated leaders,” said Robert E. Barnett, Associate Vice President for Workforce, Education and Manufacturing Policy with the S.C. Chamber of Commerce and SC-EPFP Advisory Board Chair. “Together they will learn new skills, develop added insight, and work collaboratively so they can take positive action to improve South Carolina’s future through meaningful education improvement and reform.”

In addition to Allison, members of the class for 2015-16 are:

  • Jennifer G. Ainsworth, 2015 South Carolina Teacher of the Year, Socastee High School, Horry County Schools, Myrtle Beach
  • Rhonda D. Caldwell, Coordinator, Homework Centers & Business Week, South Carolina Chamber of Commerce, Columbia
  • Lisa L. Corning, Education & Early Disability Coordinator, Early Head Start, Richland County First Steps, Columbia
  • Mary D. “Penny” Cothran, APR, Multimedia Manager, South Carolina Chamber of Commerce, Columbia
  • Baron R. Davis, Assistant Superintendent, Richland District Two, Columbia
  • Don D. Doggett, Senior TA Consultant & Program Associate, American Institutes for Research, Columbia
  • Shawn P. Haggerty, Director of Specialized Programs, Sumter County Schools, Sumter
  • Robin L. Hardy, Principal, Fairfield Middle School, Fairfield County School District, Winnsboro
  • Traci M. Hogan, Executive Director of Federal Programs, Horry County Schools, Conway
  • James P. “Jamie” Houston, DDS, United States Army, Fort Jackson
  • Suzanne T. Koty, 2016 South Carolina Teacher of the Year, Center for Educator Recruitment, Retention & Advancement (CERRA), Rock Hill
  • Angela Leon, Field Account Manager, Hewlett-Packard, Lexington
  • Kathy F. Maness, Executive Director, Palmetto State Teachers Association (PSTA), Columbia
  • Christina S. Melton, Chief Instructional Officer, School District Five of Lexington & Richland Counties, Irmo
  • Joel M. Mitchell, Principal, Williston-Elko High School, Williston District 29, Williston
  • Margaret Peach, Principal, McCracken Middle School, Spartanburg School District 7, Spartanburg
  • Ryan T. Pool, Principal, Lexington Middle School, Lexington School District One, Lexington
  • Thomas L. Rhodes, III, President, Rhodes Graduation Services, Inc., Summerton
  • Charles J. “Chuck” Saylors, Member, Board of Trustees of Greenville County Schools, Vice President, M.B. Kahn Construction Company, Taylors
  • Gregory B. “Gregg” Scott, Principal, Woodmont Middle School, Greenville County Schools, Piedmont
  • Kimberly M. “Kim” Wiley, School Liaison, Marine Corps Community Services, United State Marine Corps, Beaufort

The SC-EPFP operates under the auspices of the national Education Policy Fellowship Program of the Institute for Educational Leadership in Washington, D.C., which oversees Fellowship programs in 16 states and the District of Columbia. In South Carolina, the program is coordinated by the S.C. School Improvement Council and located in the University of South Carolina College of Education, with the assistance of the SC Department of Education’s Office of School Leadership.